CD Review: Toto “40 Trips Around The Sun”

Pat FrancisMiscellaneousLeave a Comment

40 TripsClassic rock band Toto return to the record racks this week with the brand new career retrospective album “40 Trips Around The Sun.”

The new collection contains 17 track. 14 of the band’s best loved songs plus 3 newly recorded tracks that include: “Alone,” “Spanish Sea” and “Struck By Lightning.”

Longtime fans will be especially interested in “Spanish Sea” as it includes bass and drum tracks that were originally recorded by Mike and Jeff Porcaro. Both brothers have passed away but their influence on musicians and music lovers lives on in the legacy they left through their past recordings and this newly unearthed track.

Toto originally recorded 10 albums for Columbia Records and 7 of those are represented here with hits such as “Hold The Line,” “99,” “Stranger In Town,” “Pamela,” “I’ll Be Over You,”  “Rosanna,” “Africa” the rocking instrumental “Jake To The Bone” and many many more.

All of the songs on this collection have been newly remastered for an upcoming box set that will include all 10 of the band’s Sony output. The remastering has been meticulously handle by Gavin Lurssen and Reuben Cohen with input by the band member s and Elliot Scheiner and after 40 years I was actually hearing subtleties in these songs that I had never heard before!

The band will also embark on a 40th Anniversary world tour that will take them around the sun a few more times and bring them back to the states later in 2018. With the upcoming tour and previously mentioned box set and the just released “40 Trips Around The Sun” Toto shows no signs of slowing down and 2018 might just be the band’s best year ever!

40 Trips



Check out out exclusive PCB Quick Six Interviews.

Lisa Ebersole barely speaks French

Cherie Priest does housework on the weekends

Dar Williams admits she wishes she wrote “Endless Love”

(Visited 580 times, 1 visits today)
Pat FrancisCD Review: Toto “40 Trips Around The Sun”