Blu-Ray Review: Foreigner LIVE at the Rainbow ’78

Pat FrancisBlu-Ray Review, Miscellaneous, MusicLeave a Comment

review Foreigner LiveForeigner LIVE

Hard rock hitmakers Foreigner are back in the home video market place with the just-released LIVE at the Rainbow ’78.

This vintage concert dates back to the band’s first tour promoting the release of their self-titled debut Foreigner that spent a year in the US Top 20.

This sold out show was recorded live at London’s celebrated Rainbow Theatre on April 27, 1978 and finds the band firing on all cylinders as they blast through a 12 song set that includes all 10 tracks from their debut album. The band also introduces two numbers that would have been new to the crowd, “Hot Blooded” and “Double Vision.” These two songs would become Top 5 hits the following year and remain in the band’s set list to this day.

Foreigner history – Rainbow ’78

 LIVE at the Rainbow ’78 has been completely restored from the original film reels, remixed and remastered for this release. The concert features the classic Foreigner lineup of Mick Jones (lead guitar, keyboards, backing vocals), Lou Gramm (lead vocals, percussion), Ian McDonald (guitars, keyboards, sax, flute, backing vocals), Al Greenwood (keyboards, synthesizer), Ed Gagliardi (bass, backing vocals) and Dennis Elliott (drums, backing vocals), this show captures the essence of a group who would go on to become one of the world’s best-selling bands of all time.

review Foreigner RainbowViewers will marvel at Lou Gramm’s vocal prowess which he displays as he aggressively prowls the stage and beats his tambourine into submission. Mick Jones shows that he is not only a gifted songwriter but a truly phenomenal guitarist as he plays all the classic riffs from Foreigner’s chart topping hits. Multi-instrumentalist Ian McDonald is a standout as is hard rocking drummer Dennis Elliot. If there is a heartthrob on stage the award would go to the late, great Ed Gagliardi who has tremendous interplay with Jones and oozes rockstar charisma.

While “Fake Foreigner” continues to tour, with just Jones holding down the lone original member slot, LIVE at the Rainbow ’78 offers fans new and old a chance to see the original band rocking out like they used to. 


Foreigner Rainbow '78

01. Long, Long Way From Home
02. I Need You
03. Woman Oh Woman
04. Hot Blooded
05. The Damage Is Done
06. Cold As Ice
07. Starrider
08. Double Vision
09. Feels Like The First Time
10. Fool For You Anyway
11. At War With The World
12. Headknocker

More Pat Francis Reviews

Spend Alone time with the legend Chrissie Hynde
Francis on Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe
Wonder Woman on DVD is special
Jerk? Who you calling a jerk?

(Visited 225 times, 1 visits today)
Pat FrancisBlu-Ray Review: Foreigner LIVE at the Rainbow ’78