5 Books like Game of Thrones: Historical Power and Brutality

Garon CockrellMiscellaneousLeave a Comment

 

Whether you’ve been gripped by the ever-present potential for a spontaneous death, or perhaps Khaleesi’s emerging power, George R.R. Martin has earned his following with shock, intrigue and bold plot lines.

Some fans may have been led by the TV series, others may have already been hooked on the
books. Whoever you are and however you discovered the world of ‘A Song of Fire and Ice’ we’ve collated more stories about history, fantasy and brutality.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Wise Man’s Fear, The Kingkiller Chronicle by (2011)

What is it?: This is the second volume in The Kingkiller Chronicle series, where a rivalry with a powerful member of the nobility forces Kvothe to leave the University and seek his fortune abroad. With assassination attempts, mystery and copious travelling, ‘The Wise Man’s Fear’ is a gripping read with great pace.

Perfect for: Those who love intrigue and the journeys in their stories.

Blood of Elves by Andrzej Sapkowski (1994)

What is it?: ‘Blood of Elves’ which translates in Polish to ‘Krew elfów’ is the first novel in the Witcher Saga written by Polish fantasy writer, Andrzej Sapkowski. You don’t want to messwith a Witcher. They’re cunning, ruthless and powerful. Popular among fantasy lovers, ‘Blood of Elves’ follows what happens when the peace ends between humans, dwarves, gnomes, and elves. Its smart, enticing plot saw it win the Polish Janusz A. Zajdel Award for Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Novel in 1994.

Perfect for: Those who want a extra helping of fantasy in their fiction.

The BoneHunters: A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson (2006)

What is it?: The Malazan Book of the Fallen series is an epic fantasy series that depicts a period of turmoil in the history of the Malazan Empire. With a plethora of characters – human,
immortal and non-human – the Malazan consists of independent plots that stand alone as storylines.

Perfect for: Those who enjoy subplots and enjoy short stories.

The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett (1983-2015)

What is it?: This series is set on the fictional Discworld, a flat disc balanced on the backs of four elephants – with those elephants are standing on the back of a giant turtle named Great A’Tuin. These books take inspiration from (and mimic) mythology, folklore and fairy tales. Doused with satire, Pratchett takes the fantasy novel to new realms.

Perfect for: Fantasy lovers who want more satire in their reading.

The Stress of Her Regard by Tim Powers (1989)

What is it?: The Stress of Her Regard is a 1989 horror/fantasy novel by Tim Powers. It suggests an unheard history in whereby the lives of famous English Romantic writers are largely determined by a race of protean vampire-like creatures known as nephilim. Gutsy, gory and historic, The Stress of Her Regard ramps up fantasy history with a horror-driven undercurrent.

Perfect for: Thrill-seekers who want some supernatural gore with their historic fiction.

“A mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone…”

According to George R.R. Martin, a sword needs a whetstone to remain sharp and the same applies to books and your mind. Luckily, with this selection, you’ll be able to delve into other realms of historical fiction – and leave the laws of present day behind…

 

itcher finds recommendations you’ll love. It works by connecting you to like minded people with similar taste. itcher then uses these connections to generate new recommendations, personalized just for you.

(Visited 282 times, 1 visits today)
Garon Cockrell5 Books like Game of Thrones: Historical Power and Brutality