What You Need To Know Before Going To See X-Men: Apocalypse

Garon CockrellMiscellaneousLeave a Comment

The new X-Men film is highly anticipated in the Marvel community. X-Men: Apocalypse follows the most powerful mutant, who amassed the powers of many other mutants making him immortal and invincible. He awakes after thousands of years and wishes to create a new world over – it’s up to Professor X and Raven to save mankind from Apocalypse. It all sounds like a formula for success, but if you’re a bit lost as to where we are in the X-Men timeline, fear not. We hope that this guide makes you feel a bit more up-to-date before you watch the new X-Men film. Be sure to check out the dedicated online slot at Ladbrokes if you’re feeling all things Marvel before going to see the latest film.

X-Men (2000)
The first film, simply titled X-Men, focuses on two mutants who come to a private academy for their kind, whose resident superhero team (led by Professor X) must oppose a terrorist organisation (led by Magneto) with similar powers. It’s a great opener – you’re introduced to what it is the mutants can do, from Cyclops who unleashes bolts of energy from his eyes to Storm who can control the weather. The film ends with Professor X’s X-Men stopping Magneto, but he promises to continue his fight.

X2 (2003)
After a failed assassination attempt on the President’s life by the teleporting mutant Nightcrawler, Professor X’s school is targeted for the crime. Seeking answers, the X-Men fall into a trap set by William Stryker, who happens to know an awful lot about Wolverine’s past that the man himself doesn’t know. A crack-commando team infiltrate the school with Wolverine in charge, and it’s up to him to defend the school. The battle climaxes at a nearby dam, where Jean Grey sadly perishes.

X-Men: The Last Stand (2006)
X-Men: The Last Stand begins with a flashback. Professor X and Magneto visit the home of a young Jean Grey some 20 years before, who is the most powerful mutant they have ever encountered. Fast forward to present day, and it’s discovered that Jean didn’t die. Her split personality is revealed, however, and she takes sides with Magneto. It is then discovered that there is a ‘cure’ for mutancy which receives mixed reactions. Magneto leads his Brotherhood on an attack on Alcatraz Island, home of the research facility for the cure and the boy who is the cure himself, and the X-Men have to save the day.

X-Men: First Class (2011)
Really, it’s a trilogy that ends there. The next set of X-Men films go back in time to learn about a younger Professor X and Magneto. It’s 1962, and the United States government enlists the help of mutants with superhuman abilities to stop a malicious dictator who is determined to start World War III. Before Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr took the names Professor X and Magneto, they were two friends discovering their powers for the first time. X-Men: First Class covers the rift that opened between them.

X-Men: Days Of Future Past (2014)
With this film, it helps to have watched The WolverineX-Men: Days Of Future Past is the sequel to both The Wolverine and X-Men: First Class where the X-Men send Wolverine’s consciousness back in time to 1973 to prevent the assassination of Bolivar Trask.

(Visited 160 times, 1 visits today)
Garon CockrellWhat You Need To Know Before Going To See X-Men: Apocalypse