New Music: The Dark Element Releases First Album Today

Robin LynnMusic, New MusicLeave a Comment

The DARK ELEMENT is a new musical project fronted by the former Nightwish vocalist Anette Olzon together with Finnish guitarist and songwriter Jani Liimatainen. The combination of these two talents promises to deliver a debut album that will be a huge statement in the European metal scene.

Since word of this project got out, fans have been frothing at the mouth with anticipation for it’s arrival. And no wonder considering the talent involved! Anette is widely known for being the immaculate voice on the hit albums from Nightwish, “Dark Passion Play” and “Imaginareum”. Jani has recently been busy in Cain’s Offering alongside Stratovarius singer Timo Kotipelto, but left a deep mark on the minds of all power metal fans thanks to his time in Sonata Arctica.

Jani Liimatainen: “I have always been a big fan of Anette’s voice and when the opportunity to work with her arose, writing and producing an album, it was something I just couldn’t say no! It has been a blast working on the songs and I can’t wait for everyone to hear the final result. This will be epic! The songs are extremely melodic and to the point. My goal has been to write catchy songs with hooks that will haunt your dreams, and I think it’s pretty much ‘mission accomplished’. Stay tuned for something special!”

Anette Olzon: “I am so looking forward to this album and I believe our collaboration worked like a perfect match and I am really happy that Jani and Frontiers asked me to do this with them!”


The Dark Element

My Sweet Mystery

Last Good Day

Here’s To You

Someone You Used to Know

Dead to Me


I Cannot Raise The Dead

The Ghost and the Reaper

Heaven of Your Heart

Only One Who Knows Me

PRODUCED BY: Jani Liimatainen

MIXED BY: Jacob Hansen


Anette Olzon – Lead Vocals

Jani Liimatainen – Guitars, keyboards, programming

Jonas Kuhlberg – Bass

Jani “Hurtsi” Hurula – Drums

Piano on “Someone You Used to Know” and “Heaven of Your Heart” by Jarkko Lahti

Backing vocals by Anette Olzon, Petri Aho, Anssi Stenberg and Jani Liimatainen

Growls on “Dead to Me” by Niilo Sevänen


Watch the video for the latest release from The Dark Element, and visit the Frontiers Music YouTube page for additional new The Dark Element videos!


More PCB Music:

CD Review: Black Country Communion “BCCIV”

Breaking News: EPICA to Record With Metropole Orkest

Bunbury Music Festival 2017 Review

(Visited 109 times, 1 visits today)
Robin LynnNew Music: The Dark Element Releases First Album Today